The Avicenna Award

The Avicenna Award 


The Avicenna award is made in recognition of and inspired by Ibn Sina 980-1037 CE known as Avicenna, a Persian polymath, who wrote almost 450 works on a wide range of subjects, of which around 240 have survived. In particular, 150 of his surviving works concentrate on philosophy and 40 of them concentrate on medicine. He is regarded as the most famous and influential genius of the Islamic Golden Age of thought , culture and science, when Islam created the most advanced thinkers in chemistry, cosmology, medicine and philosophy. It is possible to detect the perihelion of a culture when  rich resources of time , wealth and curiosity, permit advanced play to become an object of intense intellectual investigation .The level of chess strategy attained in the Islamic Golden age, by such Grandmasters as As Suli, reveal insights which baffle even modern computers.

The Avicenna Medal is supervised by Trustees Prof Dr Ahmed Ali Khan Fellow of The Royal Society of Medicine; Professor Michael Crawford Imperial College London, Director of the Institute for Human Brain Chemistry and  Nutrition; Professor Tony Buzan Inventor of Mind Maps and Chess Grandmaster Ray Keene OBE MA Trinity College Cambridge.

THE AVICENNA MEDAL – won this year by Dr Manahel Thabet – is a multi- faceted award, overseen by The Brain Trust and  given to appreciate best practice in science and research. Also of course to honour and perpetuate the name of Avicenna himself and to highlight the work of those who build bridges between east and west, between the world of Islam and other religions, to cross all barriers of creed, race, gender, physical  ability and territories.

The Brain Trust and the Avicenna Committee are delighted to announce that Dr Manahel Thabet has accepted our invitation to receive the Avicenna Award for 2014 and join us as Vice President and President of the Middle East and North Africa Branch of the Charity. Dr Manahel Thabet is a Renaissance figure who re-embodies the virtues and intellectual power of Avicenna’s Gold Age. She is therefore a most fitting and worthy winner of the 2014 Avicenna Medal.